Skip to main content

Who is a nonmember

A nonmember is a customer in your space who does not belong to the community inside a specific location and only occasionally interacts with your location. Nonmembers are also all your former members who were removed from the Customers. Thus, nonmembers don’t have the same level of access to facilities, services, and benefits as members. ​ Here is an example of the nonmember profile:
Spacebring allows you to easily track nonmembers’ activities, handle them efficiently, and interact with them to grow the community. Users become nonmembers after doing the following actions:
  • Creating a paid or free booking on the Rooms, Desks, Parking, or Offices pages
  • Submitting any successful payment
  • Applying for a benefit
  • Ordering any product on Shop
  • Joining any event.
Users who just start making a payment, ordering a product, creating a booking, etc., do not become nonmembers unless they complete these actions.

Add a nonmember

Spacebring allows you to add a nonmember manually to issue an invoice to them or make a booking on their behalf. There are three ways to add a nonmember.

From the Customers page

If you need to issue an invoice to a nonmember for a service other than a booking, follow these steps to add them:
  1. Go to the Customers page > press the menu (…) top tight > Add nonmember.
  1. Fill out the customer’s name, email address, and phone number.
  1. Press Done. The customer’s profile is created on the Nonmembers page.
To issue an invoice to a nonmember:
  1. Go to the Billing page in their profile.
  2. Create and issue a one-off invoice.
  3. The customer will receive an invoice via email with the Pay button and can pay online by card or bank debit.

From booking creation

If you need to make a booking for a nonmember, follow these steps to add them:
  1. Go to Resources > Rooms, Desks, or Parking > select the resource the nonmember wants to book.
  2. In the Booker dropdown, find the New nonmember option.
  1. Enter the customer’s details and complete the booking. This will create a nonmember profile for the user automatically.
  2. Follow these steps to issue an invoice for the booking.

From the Contacts page

When walk-ins leave their contact details through the Reception app, you can add them as a nonmember with just one click without manually re-entering their information. This is useful if:
  • You need to create a booking for them (e.g., they’re paying externally or via invoice).
  • You need to issue an invoice for a service or resource.
  1. Go to Service > Visitors > Contacts page.
  2. Click a contact to open their details.
  3. Click to add them as a nonmember.
    • To make a booking for them, go to the Resources page, and type their name in the Booker field — it will appear automatically.
    • To issue an invoice for them, click their name to open their newly created nonmember profile > go to Billing.
We recommend promoting customer independence and encouraging new customers to complete their booking or purchase on their own. However, if you need to accept payment via bank debit to save on credit card processing fees or if there is any other reason why the customer is unable to complete the booking or payment by themselves, you can add them as a nonmember and book or issue an invoice to them.

What a nonmember can do

  • Use what the location offers publicly: book or purchase the products and services set to Public visibility, and pay for them
  • Manage their own account, billing details, and purchase history
  • Sign up for a membership plan or a resource rental and become a member
Nonmembers become active and count towards your subscription only if they meet the criteria by interacting with Member Web Portal or Member Mobile Apps.
Each location has a unique list of nonmembers.

Manage nonmembers

To locate nonmembers, navigate to the Customers page and select Nonmembers in the drop-down list at the top of the page.
Administrators can view all past activities of nonmembers, including their bookings, payments, invoices, etc., and manage their billing information.

Invite a nonmember as a member

Invite a nonmember to make them a member without retyping their details.
  1. Go to the Customers page > Users tab > select Nonmembers in the dropdown.
  2. Click the user to open their profile > press Invite as member.
The user receives an email invitation and gets member access. You can then add them to a company, create a subscription, and manage their other member details.

Delete a nonmember

Delete a nonmember to remove them from the location’s list of nonmembers.
  1. Go to the Customers page > Users tab > select Nonmembers in the dropdown.
  2. Click the user to open their profile.
  3. Press the (…) menu top right > select Delete > confirm your choice.
A nonmember's profile with the menu open and the Delete option on Spacebring's coworking space management platform
To delete several nonmembers at once, select their checkboxes, then press Delete in the toolbar at the bottom of the page.
To quickly select several or all items in a long list, select a checkbox, then hold Shift and select another checkbox to select every row between them.
Once a nonmember is deleted, you can no longer view their past data or invite them as a member. Their account still exists, so they can still log in. If they interact with your location again — for example, make a booking or a shop order — they become a nonmember again.

Export a nonmembers report

With Nonmembers selected on the Customers page, click (…) in the top right corner > Export users as CSV or Export users as XLSX to download a report on all nonmembers. The report includes each nonmember’s contact and billing details, and the date they were added.

FAQs

No, providing an email address is mandatory when adding a nonmember. The email address is required for the user to log into their account. They must enter their email address, and the system will send the OTP code to that address.
Not every user who logs in is a nonmember and appears under Customers > Nonmembers. A person only becomes a nonmember once they have meaningfully interacted with your space by creating a booking, making a payment, shop order, benefit application, or joining an event.If a user simply registered, logged in, or browsed the member web portal or mobile app without taking any of the actions above, they will only appear under Network Settings > Users. It shows a full list of users who have ever registered in your network, regardless of activity. The Users page is only accessible to the owner.